Several quick items

1. I got my license plate today! Finally! My car now blends into North Carolina.

2. I just watched Romancing the Stone.  It reminded me of Crocodile Dundee a little. I’m a huge sucker for action / romantic comedy mixes, and I was literally laughing out loud at regular intervals throughout the movie. It may be a new favorite.

3. I went to the Farmer’s Market today.  Overall, I think it’s a great place – there are two main areas,  one area where local farmers sell produce in bulk and another area where produce is sold in smaller quantities and crafts, jellies, beans, milled products, cheeses, meats, and other such things are sold. One thing I noticed when wandering around today is that none of the stalls were labelled organic, naturally grown, or in any other way that would suggest they weren’t conventionally grown. I felt I could guess, at least a little, which people were organic and which weren’t – some stalls, even in the bulk section, had a lot of variety (both in types of produce and the size/shape of each fruit), and some were very homogeneous with large fruit. All are priced very similarly – I think the Ag department might set ceiling prices (this particular farmer’s market is a permanent affair owned by the state).  I felt confident that everything in the bulk section was truly locally grown – coming from no further than a several hour car ride – but in the retail area I saw produce labelled as from Florida, Bragg’s soy sauce, and other indicators that things didn’t necessarily need to be local to be included in the Farmer’s Market.  Also, the people selling things in the retail section of the farmer’s market are often just clerks – they really can’t answer a  ton of questions about the origin of the food.  I’d love to see a little more transparency in where the items come from and how they’re farmed.  That being said, it’s still fantastic that the farmer’s market is well advertised on several major roads, open year round, and without doubt provides many local farmers with a place to sell their produce.

Leave a Reply

